Skip to main content



Dr. David Feldon Published Research On "Null effects of boot camps" for New Doctoral Students

Dr. David Feldon, a professor here in the Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences (ITLS) Department at Utah State, published research showing introductory boot camps for PhD students have no effect in promoting long-term success for graduate students.

Dr. Feldon researched boot camps at 53 different universities with coauthors from Ohio and Virginia as well as graduate student coauthors from here in the ITLS Department. They collected data from nearly 300 graduate students over three years. They compared students who did and did not participate in a boot camp training on indicators such as the number of published articles, self confidence and feelings of belonging.

The graduate student coauthors from Utah State include Soojeong Jeong, Cathy Maahs-Fladung and Alok Shenoy. "Co-authoring this particular paper was such a valuable experience," explained Jeong, a PhD student. "I learned a lot from the great researchers in our team in terms of how to develop an argumen…

Latest Posts

ITLS Researchers to Receive the Outstanding Journal Article Award from The Association for Educational Communications & Technology

Dr. Yanghee Kim Accepted an Endowed Chair Position at Northern Illinois University

Researchers from the PEL and LED Lab Presented at the 4-H Computer Science Pathway Training

Dr. Searle and Dr. Litts Conduct Research With Native American Communities on STEM Education and Makerspaces

Nam Ju Kim Takes a Tenure-Track Position at University of Miami

Dr. Victor Lee Co-Authored a Research Paper with a Nine-Year-Old Boy

The LED Lab Conducted a Professional Development Training on Thursday

Dr. Fields Presented at the 2017 Conference on Computational Thinking in Hong Kong

Doctoral student, Ji-Eun Lee, participated in the Simon Initiative's LearnLab Summer School at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

ITLS Professors Attend, Present at, and Collaborate at CSCL